fbpx

Welcome, Guest RegisterLogin Menu

Remy & Lina

- California -

Introduction

We are a two-mom, one-kid interracial family living in the San Francisco Bay Area. Remy (long purple hair) and Lina (short black hair) adopted Elena (the short one) in 2019. Now we are hoping to find a match for a sibling! A second child would join a stable, loving family with lots of time and attention. Please contact us!

Quick Facts

  • Location

    California
  • Neighborhood Type

    City
  • Adopted Before

    Yes
  • Relationship Status

    Married
  • Pets

  • Children

    1 Girl

About Remy

  • Ethnicity:
    Any racial/ethnic background
  • Speaks:
    English
  • Religion:
    Agnostic
  • Education:
    College Degree
  • Occupation:
    Children's Librarian

Remy is 38 and has Filipina, Irish, and Dutch heritage; she grew up in the SF Bay Area with her parents and younger sister. Her hair is usually some shade of purple and may also have glitter in it. Remy loves to be silly but also can get things done! Life is not complete without a checklist. She reads aloud (to Elena and at her library job) in English and Spanish with ALL the voices, and makes up songs frequently. Remy and Elena take long evening walks and say hi to the neighbors (especially cats). Her claim to momentary fame was appearing on Jeopardy! with Alex Trebek. She really likes folding cloth diaper laundry and finding secondhand baby clothes. Elena calls her "Mama".

About Lina

  • Ethnicity:
    Hispanic/Latino
  • Speaks:
    English, Spanish
  • Religion:
    Other
  • Education:
    Some College
  • Occupation:
    Library Aide

Lina (short for Adelina) is 38 and was raised in a Mexican family (mom, dad, brother, sister) who live in Southern California. Lina uses her skills as a labor organizer to represent her library colleagues with our union (Remy is a librarian; Lina is a library aide for the same system). She works part-time and is home with Elena most of the week. Together they visit parks, run errands, and ride bikes. Lina often has a bunch of projects to juggle, and as long as she has enough coffee she's ready to go all day! Some things she loves about parenting: introducing Elena to the ocean, playing hide-and-seek, picking blackberries. Elena's name for her is "Adi".

Building Our Family Through Adoption

Our Letter To You

Our Parenting Style

We waited a long time to be parents, and we’re therefore very engaged in Elena’s day-to-day life. She’s with one or both of us nearly all of the time. We talk to her a lot — encouragement, helping her work through problems, or making up silly songs and stories. We’re affectionate. Lots of hugs! We spend a fair amount of time climbing trees and crawling around on the floor. We’re a little crunchy (cloth diapers, baby wearing), but we believe in science (vaccination, car seat safety) and do what works for our family. We’re raising Elena to make her own decisions and stand by them, to be a positive force in the world, and to feel secure and loved.

Adoption Preferences

  • Preferred Gender
    Open to either gender, Open to either gender
  • Preferred Age
    Newborn - 6 Months, 7 Months - 1 year of age
  • Willing to Adopt
    One Child, Twins/Triplets, A Sibling Group
  • Preferred Adoption Type
    Open, Semi-Open
  • Child’s Ethnicity
    White/Caucasian, Black/African American, Hispanic/Latino, Other
  • Special Needs
    Yes (on a case by case basis)

Family Photos

Contact Remy & Lina

  • Hidden