Welcome, Guest RegisterLogin Menu

David & Betsy

- Colorado -


David: "In my wildest dreams I'd never thought I'd be at a book release." Betsy: "I never thought I'd be part of a motorcycle group." We are two very different people from different worlds, but that is what makes us work. We continually bring each other into our interests, work and hobbies, and we love being together. Between the two of us, our interests span from education and travel, to sports and working on cars. But, no matter what, we're a team!

Quick Facts

  • Location

  • Neighborhood Type

  • Adopted Before

  • Relationship Status

  • Pets

    2 Dogs
  • Children


About David

  • Ethnicity:
    Asian/Asian American
  • Speaks:
  • Religion:
  • Education:
    College Degree
  • Occupation:
    Landscape Designer

I’m David and I like long walks on the beach and… Enough of that. Who am I really? I am a son to two amazing parents that adopted me as an infant. I am a brother to three wonderful siblings. I am a husband of a magnificent woman that is the love of my life. I am creative. Woodworking, design and art have been in my blood since I was a child. I remember building rubber band guns for the neighborhood kids. Their parents were not pleased. I have since moved to bigger projects like building furniture and motorcycles. Creativity has even led me to start my own design business.  If I’m not playing a sport, I will take second best and enjoy watching football and soccer. I’m blessed to be in a neighborhood of like-minded people. Often you will find the block having a BBQ or the guys helping another neighbor work on a car or house project. The neighbors say we need somebody cute and cuddly in our house. We agree and want to expand our family with that chubby smiling baby face. 

About Betsy

  • Ethnicity:
  • Speaks:
  • Religion:
  • Education:
    College Degree
  • Occupation:
    Mental Health Therapist

Growing up I loved to read, play with Legos, listen to the adults talk, and roller skate in the cul-de-sac. I loved school and everything that went with it. As an adult, I still pretty much enjoy all the same things, although I’ve added crocheting and cooking to the list, too. I value hospitality and love having friends and family over for dinner or drinks on the patio. Throughout my 20s I lived in France, Ukraine, Iowa, Colorado, Wisconsin, and Arkansas and I treasure the things I got to learn, and the people I got to meet, in each place. I love to travel and to discover the history and culture of different people and places. While each is unique, there is so much that can bring us together as humans, and I think that’s beautiful. I’ve been a mental health counselor for over 15 years, a professor of counseling for over 10, and a speaker/consultant/writer for about as long. No matter the context or role, I love helping people discover new ways to grow into the person they’re made to be. I see the journey of parenthood as a continuation of this calling: to help nurture the growth and development of a child into the fullness of who they are meant to be.

Building Our Family Through Adoption

Our Letter To You

My (David’s) birth parents had to make the same decision as you are right now, and I can’t imagine what that must be like. I was adopted as an infant and will be forever grateful for them making a decision that hard. While I don’t know them, I do know they were selfless, loving, strong and wanted what was best for me. I hope someday to meet them, thank them, and introduce my wife and future children to them.
Both of us have always wanted to adopt, seeing it as our first choice in building a family. Even before I (Betsy) was diagnosed with infertility at 22, I was passionate about caring for women in crisis pregnancy situations and interested in adoption. When we started dating, our mutual interest in adoption was something we talked about on date number one, and have continued to pray about and pursue since we got married.
If we are the right family for you and your baby (or babies), we are open to whatever level of connection you choose. And, no matter what, we promise to always speak of you with respect, gratitude, admiration, and love. Whether or not it’s us, we pray you find the right adoptive parents for your baby (or babies), and feel both peace and connection in the process.

Our Parenting Style

As Betsy’s mom once said, “Our job as parents is not to raise children, but to raise contributing, self-sufficient, empathic, and competent adults.” To us that means our approach to parenting meets a kiddo at their current developmental stage while keeping in mind who they are becoming. Every kid is wired in a unique way, and it is our job as parents to learn who that child is, what motivates them, what inspires them, and work with them to cultivate the person they were made to be.

When it comes to discipline, we think discipline should be age and developmentally appropriate and tailored to the personality and needs of the child. Where one child may just need to know that their choice made you sad, another may need a time out, or to lose privileges for a time to get the point across. We are committed to learning who our child is, and what guidance they need in order to grow into the person God made them to be.

Adoption Preferences

  • Preferred Gender
    Open to either gender, Open to either gender
  • Preferred Age
    Newborn - 6 Months, 7 Months - 1 year of age
  • Willing to Adopt
    One Child, Twins/Triplets, A Sibling Group
  • Preferred Adoption Type
    Open, Semi-Open, Closed
  • Child’s Ethnicity
    Any racial/ethnic background
  • Special Needs
    Yes (on a case by case basis)

Our Story

Our Home

Our 3 bedroom, 2.5 bath, 2-story house with a fenced in back yard is located in a quiet, diverse, suburb outside Denver, Colorado. But, what’s more important to us are the incredible neighbors who help make this house a home, surrounding us and filling our lives with warmth, laughter, love, and care. When we got married, Betsy chose to move into David’s house because of the community he had with the neighbors. From regular dinners together, to neighborhood competitions (with trophies) for darts, corn hole, and basketball, to motorcycle rides together we have a diverse group of families that we loving doing life with.

Our Nursery

We want to make sure our child is exposed to as many experiences as possible so they can find their voice in this world. With that said, we decorated in a travel and adventure theme. The walls are painted in a gender-neutral teal with white wainscotting and gold accents.

Our Pets

Iggy is an 11 year old Snorkie, aka. Schnauzer-Yorkie. He is a wise, thoughtful, old-soul.  Jake is a 4 year old Westie-mix. He is the happiest, bounciest, most joyful dog on the planet! They are the bestest of friends, and together they are an inseparable team.

Our Family

At the moment we are a team of two (David and Betsy) with our two furry sidekicks (Iggy and Jake). Despite what David says, the motorcycles are not part of the family. We do consider our neighbors as family. We share holidays, birthdays and life milestones together.

Outside our home we have family all over the US. Even though there are hundreds of miles between us, once we reunite, it’s as if we never were apart. Our parents live just over an hour from us, and only fifteen minutes away from each other, and have grown close as well.

Custom Section

Family Photos

Contact David & Betsy

  • Hidden