Welcome, Guest RegisterLogin Menu

Keisha & Andrew

- California -


We're Andrew and Keisha. We're two writers and teachers who fell in love over comedy. Our Southern California home is filled with love, lots of giggles from our daughter, and our two pups. We're very close to both of our families and welcome more people into them regularly. We know this must be a hard time and this decision is stressful, so we hope you know that if you pick us we will provide your child with love, structure, play, and a lot of laughter. We look forward to connecting.

Quick Facts

  • Location

  • Neighborhood Type

  • Adopted Before

  • Relationship Status

  • Pets

    2 Dogs
  • Children

    1 Girl

About Keisha

  • Ethnicity:
    Black/African American
  • Speaks:
  • Religion:
  • Education:
    College Degree
  • Occupation:
    Screenwriter and Teacher

Keisha is a kind-hearted intellectual with a passion for giving a voice to underrepresented people. As someone who's lived all over the country, Keisha has the New York hustle with California chill. While her creative pursuits have brought her much success, she's always chasing the heels of her large, loving, and incredibly prolific family. Keisha's the kind of creative intellect that can reverse engineer a restaurant quality meal at home while under a writing deadline. She has the kind of heart that will mentor multiple people at once with the only expectation being that they pay it forward.

About Andrew

  • Ethnicity:
  • Speaks:
  • Religion:
  • Education:
    College Degree
  • Occupation:
    Screenwriter and Teacher

Andrew is a warm, outdoorsy, Eagle Scout who exudes dad-energy. Born and raised in New York, he recently moved to the fun and sun of California to pursue writing and teaching after working in marketing. He's the middle of three children, so he's always understood the value of sharing and compromise. Andrew loves movies, cooking, comics, and animals; having had several rescue pups. He's the kind of guy who will come over to hang out and wind up helping building your furniture "just cause".

Building Our Family Through Adoption

Our Letter To You


We know that choosing adoption for your baby is one of the most profound decisions in the world. We want you to know that we deeply respect and admire your courage in making the incredibly difficult decision to choose adoption for your child. This choice is a testament to the immense love and selflessness you have for your baby.

Adoption is an act of profound love, and we know we can offer your baby the opportunity to grow up in a stable, loving, laughter filled and nurturing environment. We also know this decision can feel very isolating, which is why we think of adoption, especially one with any level of openness, as an expansion of family. When we adopted our daughter it was clear that our family grew beyond what we could ever imagine. We still communicate regularly with our daughter’s birth mother and will respect any level of communication you desire.

Since becoming parents through adoption, we now know we have so much love to give and resources to give to our family.

Here’s a little more about us as a couple…

Andrew and I met when we were both living in New York City. We’ve always known we wanted to be parents, working artists, and homeowners…even in a place as expensive as Manhattan. It was obvious from the start we shared the same passions: family, comedy, hard work, community, economic stability and structure. So as our relationship matured we were able to grow our lives together with so much laughter and love. We’ve always had amazing support from our immediate families, extended families and our diverse friend group. Over the years our careers flourished as did our finances. So in 2014 we were able to buy a home in Manhattan. In 2019, our professional writing and teaching careers brought us out west to the Los Angeles area. We’ve been fortunate to reconnect with our California family and friends. Most of Keisha’s maternal family still lives in the state. We’ve built a cozy stable lifestyle where our careers and love for each other has been able to thrive. It’s given us even more time to pursue our hobbies. Keisha loves interior design and Andrew’s an Eagle Scout with an affinity for the outdoors. So we hike and take trips to the mountains whenever possible.

As an interracial couple, we understand the importance of authentic diversity, frank discussions about race and the realities of being Black in America. We have navigated many complex issues around race in our marriage and with our families, so we know we can do the same with a child.

A bit about our daughter…

We came to be parents a few days after Thanksgiving of 2022. We got the call ten days before our daughter was born that we’d be matched. Being parents has always been our dream, so of course we canceled our Thanksgiving plans and hoped on a plane to Texas to meet the birth mother. We had the immense joy of being in the room when our daughter was born. Andrew even cut the cord!

Becoming parents is a transformative experience for us, we now know this is our highest calling. We know that we will do everything possible to make sure your child grows up healthy, educated, surrounded by love with an incredible sense of self, their culture and family. We promise this. We know whatever decision you make is the absolute right choice for you and your child, so trust your gut and know that it’s really true when we say adoption is love.


Keisha and Andrew


Our Parenting Style

We both work from home and have paid family leave, so we plan to share the parenting duties for at least the first 3 months of the baby’s life. In the first year, we plan to wear the baby whenever possible and have lots of skin to skin contact to promote bonding. We will also have support from a night nurse in the first few months to help them get on a regular sleep schedule, like we did with our daughter. And with regards to our parenting styles; we are direct communicators who do not believe in any kind of physical discipline whatsoever. We believe in giving kids plenty of structured playtime, socializing children with peers similar to their age, and prioritizing “family time” as much as possible. For years we’ve had the pleasure of observing my father and step-mom raise my 11 year old sister. We’ve been inspired by their parenting style; lots of love, educational support when needed, and clear boundaries—but freedom for children outside of that. We believe in a well rounded education as my mom was a doctor and my father was in business and we’re both creatives and teachers. We want to balance a child’s individual needs with structure. Any child brought up in our home will be exposed to a healthy, active lifestyle and an education to ensure they have a strong foundation for a life of happiness and fulfillment.

Adoption Preferences

  • Preferred Gender
    Open to either gender, Open to either gender
  • Preferred Age
    Newborn - 6 Months, 7 Months - 1 year of age
  • Willing to Adopt
    One Child, Twins/Triplets, A Sibling Group
  • Preferred Adoption Type
    Open, Semi-Open, Closed
  • Child’s Ethnicity
    Black/African American, Other
  • Special Needs
    Yes (on a case by case basis)

Our Story

Our Home

We reside in a beautiful 3 bedroom bungalow home in the Los Angeles suburbs nestled nicely between great mountain hiking, outdoor biking, parks, playgrounds, and a short 20 minute drive to the beach. Our culturally rich neighborhood also has excellent access to a range of restaurants, grocery stores, farmer’s markets, libraries, and fun kids activities. In addition, we are zoned for great public schools and outstanding charter schools. These schools are not just great academically, they are also serve a diverse population of students. We believe it is important for our daughter and any other child to live in a neighborhood where they see Black faces that look like theirs.

Our Nursery

We have chosen the largest bedroom in our home to be our nursery. We want children to have the most room to grow, play, and develop. We have a custom mural on the wall that came from an educator and artist who studied color theory and babies.

Our Pets

We have two small dogs, Hank and Loretta. They’re both very friendly and love babies. Loretta is a fawn colored 13 year old Chihuahua and Hank is a 3 year old Chihuahua and Dachshund mix. They’re both under 10lbs and have grown accustomed to playing with a toddler.

Our Family

Now that we are a family of three we are beyond excited to expand. We know that our daughter will an outstanding older sibling based on how she interacts with other children. It is our hope for our children to be close in age, so they will have the life-long support of family. We are both lucky enough to have siblings and we love the emotional bonds and relationships we have with them.  Keisha even has an 11 year old sister who is also adopted and Keisha’s sister is thrilled for us to have even more babies in the family.

This picture was taken on our recent trip to Hawaii. We love traveling and want to share that with our children.

Family Photos

Contact Keisha & Andrew

  • Hidden