Welcome, Guest RegisterLogin Menu

James & Carrie

- Alabama -


Hello, we are Carrie and James! We have been together for over 23 years and married for almost 16 years. Our differing personalities complement each other well. James is confident and spontaneous and always makes us laugh. Carrie is nurturing, well organized, and always puts the needs of her family above her own. We love spending time with family and taking vacations to the beach and Disney World. Adoption has been in our hearts for almost 10 years and has only grown stronger over time.

Quick Facts

  • Location

  • Neighborhood Type

  • Adopted Before

  • Relationship Status

  • Pets

  • Children

    1 Girl, 2 Boys

About James

  • Ethnicity:
  • Speaks:
  • Religion:
  • Education:
  • Occupation:
    Pulmonary and critical care physician

Hi, I'm James! I was born and grew up in Mobile, Alabama and have always been surrounded by supportive family and friends. I attended college in Alabama followed by medical school in Missouri, where I trained to become a pulmonary and critical care physician. I enjoy my job because it affords me the opportunity to help people in some of their most difficult times. I love building LEGOs, playing video games, exercising, and watching movies. I also enjoy sports, grew up in athletics, and played baseball through college. By Carrie: James is selfless, compassionate, and dependable. He is also loving, thoughtful, calm, and genuinely has a heart for people. He is very supportive, a devoted husband, my best friend, and the love of my life. James loves sports! He always enjoys being involved in a good game, whether that is playing tennis, playing pickle ball in the backyard, or going to watch his favorite team play. He is also artistic, a wonderful cook, and can fix anything! Whether it is at home or at work, he always gives a hundred percent and never gives up. James provides, protects, and loves with his whole heart.

About Carrie

  • Ethnicity:
  • Speaks:
  • Religion:
  • Education:
    College Degree
  • Occupation:
    Stay-at-home mom

Hi, I'm Carrie! I grew up in Mobile, Alabama, in a very loving and supportive home. I attended college in Alabama, where I studied communication disorders and became a speech-language pathologist. It was very rewarding to be able to help both children and adults communicate better with their loved ones. I am now a stay-at-home mom. I also enjoy playing tennis and exercising and find playing the piano to be very relaxing. I love being outdoors on a beautiful day as well as snuggling on the couch in my pajamas with a warm blanket and a good book on a rainy day. I also enjoy going on vacation and am always planning our next adventure! By James: Carrie has been my best friend since we were teenagers. From then through the journey of being my wife, it has always been apparent how deeply she cares for others. You can feel it in the greeting cards she fills with thoughtful words and see it in her daily interactions with our family or even strangers. She displays an immense amount of love and compassion for everyone she meets. I could not ask for a better person to spend my life with.

Building Our Family Through Adoption

Our Letter To You

Hello, it is so nice to meet you!

Words cannot express how much we care for you and your precious baby. Although we cannot begin to understand the feelings you are experiencing as you are deciding what is best for you and your baby, we want you to know that we admire and respect you. We pray for you and your baby often and hope you will feel peace, love, comfort, and support throughout this journey no matter what decision you make.

We feel honored and blessed that you are taking the time to get to know a little about our family. Thank you for considering us as part of your journey, and we hope that you can feel the immense amount of love we have to share with your child through the pages of our book.

We promise, should you choose us, to love your child unconditionally. Your child will also have two big brothers and a big sister who are excited and ready to teach them, play with them, and love them. They will have the best possible education, an opportunity to go to college, and support from us to follow their dreams and be whatever they want to be. We promise to teach your child about Jesus and how to show compassion, thankfulness, honesty, and perseverance. We will swing with your child, chase bubbles, and show them the beauty in a rainbow after a storm. We will build sandcastles, splash in the waves, and teach them that broken seashells are just as beautiful as the ones we find whole. Although we love having routines, we also promise to know when it is the right time to stay up a little past bedtime to play a game of family dodgeball in the living room ending with the biggest belly laughs.

We will hug, kiss, and snuggle often. Most of all, we promise to tell your child how much they are loved by you, their selfless, brave, strong mother. We hope you will always be a part of your child’s life, but we respect your wishes, whatever they may be.

With all of our love,
Carrie and James

Our Parenting Style

We are loving, encouraging, and supportive parents who are very involved in our children’s lives. Spending a lot of time together as a family is very important to us, and we enjoy celebrating both the smallest accomplishments and the biggest milestones with lots of family traditions. We want to provide our children a strong life foundation based on Christian values and morals. We also feel it is important to have consistent rules and structure both to keep them safe and to help teach positive behaviors and manners. We want our children to learn to be respectful, honest, compassionate, and always show kindness and love to others. We love to have one-on-one dates with each child, as it is important to have special time to bond and strengthen our relationship. This individualized time helps each child feel important, understood, and valued. We also want our children to be happy, know that they can always come talk to us about anything, and know that we love them unconditionally and will always be there for them. We wish to provide them with the wisdom and skills to prepare them to one day be independent and successful in society and to always be appreciative of life’s blessings.

Adoption Preferences

  • Preferred Gender
    Girl, Girl
  • Preferred Age
    Newborn - 6 Months, 7 Months - 1 year of age, 1 -2 years old, 3-5 years old
  • Willing to Adopt
    One Child
  • Preferred Adoption Type
    Open, Semi-Open, Closed
  • Child’s Ethnicity
    Any racial/ethnic background
  • Special Needs
    Yes (on a case by case basis)

Our Story

Our Home

We live in a 4-bedroom, 3.5-bathroom home in a beautiful and safe neighborhood in Mobile, Alabama. We love the outdoors and spend a lot of time in our big, fenced-in backyard swimming, playing basketball, and playing on the swing set or playhouse. There is also usually a family game of Wiffle ball, football, or pickleball in the yard. We have a big, screened back porch where you can find us relaxing on our bed swing, playing ping-pong, or watching the children play in the sandbox. Most weekends you can find us at home having a board game tournament, movie nights, playing in the backyard, or at our local park which is only about 5 minutes from our house. We also love that we live close to our church and are only about an hour away from the beach, so we can take numerous trips a year! Most of our extended family live within a 15-minute drive from our house. We are also excited to be building our forever home about a mile down the road, and it will have 5 bedrooms, which means a special room just for our new little one!

Our Family

We have 3 children: Joshua (13), Kathryn (8), and Noah (6).

Joshua is our compassionate, sensitive, old soul who is wise beyond his years. He is extremely smart and enjoys playing the piano, tennis, and loves all things sports. Joshua is kind, gentle, gets along with everyone, and gives the best warm hugs just when you need one the most. He adores his little sister and brother, reads to them, teaches them new things, and cannot wait to be a loving and protective big brother to the baby that joins our hearts and home.

Kathryn is a spunky, fun-loving, free spirit who has a smile that can light up a room. She enjoys school and loves playing the piano, dancing, dressing up, swimming, and literally cartwheels her way through life. Kathryn is a caring child with a soft heart, gives the best kisses, and is our “little mama” who takes care of her brothers, makes sure a friend never feels left out, and loves all animals. She usually has a book with her and is praying for a new baby to read to and love.

Noah is an energetic, outgoing, little boy who is always trying to make us laugh. He loves dinosaurs and superheroes. He also enjoys drawing, going to the park, and playing any sport with a ball but would love nothing more than playing in the backyard blowing bubbles and eating popsicles. Noah is our little firecracker! We do to know if he looks for mischief or if it just finds him. He loves snuggling, being read to, and cannot fall asleep at night without giving everyone high fives, fist bumps, hugs, and kisses.

Spending time with family is very important to us. Since we met as teenagers, our families are very close. They are loving, supportive, and ready to open their arms and hearts to a new little one. Carrie grew up in a very large, loving, blended family as the oldest of nine children. James grew up in a very loving and supportive family as the youngest of two children. The majority of both sides of our extended family live in town, and we see them on a regular basis. They are very involved in our children’s lives and love attending their sports events and recitals. We enjoy getting together to celebrate holidays, birthdays, and just to spend time together making new memories.

Custom Section

Although we live in Mobile, Alabama, we are a little less than an hour’s drive from the Florida state line, and we love to spend most of our vacations there! Carrie’s dad, stepmom, and their dogs, Katie and Dottie, live on the intracoastal waterway just around the corner from the beach, so a lot of our vacation is spent swimming, fishing, and going on boat rides. While we are at my dad’s house, we also love to drive to Tampa to visit places such as The Florida Aquarium, Zoo Tampa at Lowry Park, and the Glazer Children’s Museum as well as see a baseball game in St. Petersburg. In addition, we always take a trip to Pensacola Beach at the end of the summer every year. When we are not at the beach, our favorite place to go on vacation is Disney World (occasionally Universal Orlando Resort as well), and we usually go at least once a year!

Family Photos

Contact James & Carrie

  • Hidden