fbpx

Welcome, Guest RegisterLogin Menu

Devin & Sarah

- Utah -

Introduction

Hello! We are the Andersen Family and are so glad that you’re here to learn more about us. We are so excited to add to our family through adoption. We enjoy spending time together playing games, watching movies, jumping on our trampoline in the backyard, camping, traveling, and visiting extended family. We love Disneyland, Star Wars, Legos, and Harry Potter. We’ve been married since 2006 and have one son, Timothy. He is excited to be a big brother and will do such a great job! We also have a cat

Quick Facts

  • Location

    Utah
  • Neighborhood Type

    Suburban
  • Adopted Before

    No
  • Relationship Status

    Married
  • Pets

    1 Dog, 1 Cat
  • Children

    1 Boy

About Devin

  • Ethnicity:
    White/Caucasian
  • Speaks:
    English
  • Religion:
    Christianity
  • Education:
    College Degree
  • Occupation:
    Quality Assurance Software Engineer

Hello there! I’m going to give it to you straight. When God made me, he gave me the enthusiasm and optimism of buddy the elf, the humor and mannerisms of Jim Halpert, and the dashingly good looks and confidence of James Bond. Any child I were to help raise would either become President of the United States, or the next Tom Brady. My son describes me as “The Best Dad Ever”. I have the mug to prove it. My friends have often told me that they wish they were young again, just so I could adopt and raise them. I love to play Ultimate Frisbee and can throw a disc farther than uncle Rico can throw a football. I’m addicted to Wordle, enjoy reading children’s novels in Japanese, and am always thinking about the next home project. I work from home as a Quality Assurance Software Engineer, my favorite color is green, I sing along loudly to the radio, and I’m the friend you want around when you’re down on yourself. I always look for the best in others, but my biggest fault is not performing the same service for myself (despite what this description of myself may project). I love plays and musicals, watching and playing sports, playing the piano, writing and telling memorable stories, reading all kinds of books, hosting parties, and getting to know people. I’m pretty amazing and you should want me to raise your child. If you think I’d be a great father, I’m nothing compared to my wife.

About Sarah

  • Ethnicity:
    White/Caucasian
  • Speaks:
    English
  • Religion:
    Christianity
  • Education:
    College Degree
  • Occupation:
    Elementary Teacher

Hi! I’m Sarah! I would describe myself as fun, loving, kind, and patient. I love doing things with children and I feel I can connect with them easily. That’s part of the reason why I became an elementary school teacher. I taught 4th grade for 14 years and this is my first-year teaching 5th grade. I have taught online for the last 7 years and love the flexibility to teach from home and be available for my family too. Another one of my passions is crafting and sewing. I am always looking for a good project to complete and love creating things for myself and others. I consider myself a pretty good cook and enjoy spending time in the kitchen. I am the go-to cook to make rolls for family dinners and holidays. I enjoy planning and hosting parties and events. Our son, Timothy, has benefitted from some of my party planning skills with parties such as monster themed, Mario Kart themed, and Pokémon themed. I also enjoy spending time outside. The mountains are my happy place regardless of the season, but I especially enjoy the beautiful fall colors. Whether it’s hiking, camping, snowshoeing, skiing, or just driving up the canyon for a picnic; I love being in the mountains. I consider family to be my number one priority. I love spending time with family, whether it’s the 3 of us or a large extended family gathering. Spending quality time together is definitely my top love language.

Building Our Family Through Adoption

Our Letter To You

Dear Birth Family, 

 

Wow! Can we just say how much we admire and love your courage and strength? You have probably been going through some very hard decisions and we want you to know that you are amazing! The decision to place your baby for adoption is no easy task. We cannot fully comprehend the complex feelings you must be having at this time and we are humbled that you’d even consider us. We are looking forward to having an open adoption and will want to share with our child about you and your love for them. We especially want the birth mother to feel our love and admiration for you and your irreplaceable role in your child’s life. We want to continue a relationship of good communication and are open and willing to send updates and pictures on a regular basis as well as visits. We hope that as the baby grows you will look at them and feel confident in your placement of them because you will see them thriving and successful. We promise to love your child unconditionally and raise them in a loving environment, surrounded and supported by lots of family and friends. We wish you the best on your own journey through this time! Thank you again for considering us; we are eternally grateful to you!

 

With love, 

Devin, Sarah, and Timothy

Our Parenting Style

We always try to lead by example and with love. In our home we laugh a lot and help and support each other. When we do discipline we do it out of love and never anger. We try to make sure our son (and future children too) know the natural consequences to his actions and help him to have choice in things. We promise to love all our children unconditionally regardless of race, gender, or background.

Adoption Preferences

  • Preferred Gender
    Open to either gender, Open to either gender
  • Preferred Age
    Newborn - 6 Months, 7 Months - 1 year of age
  • Willing to Adopt
    One Child, Twins/Triplets, A Sibling Group
  • Preferred Adoption Type
    Open
  • Child’s Ethnicity
    White/Caucasian, Black/African American, Hispanic/Latino, Asian/Asian American, Native American, Pacific Islander
  • Special Needs
    Yes (on a case by case basis)

Our Story

Our Home

We live in a suburban area in Saratoga Springs, Utah. We moved into our newly built home in January of 2022. It was so fun to go through the design and build process. We loved being close enough that we could come out weekly to check on the progress of our home. We love where we live! We have a decent size backyard and it’s been Devin’s project to design the landscaping and how we want it. One of the first things we did was put in an in-ground trampoline. That has definitely been used almost daily – even in cold weather. We also put in a gazebo and love to sit out there with the fire table lit. Our backyard plans are not finished yet. Future plans include garden boxes, a customized shed (built by Devin), a boys fort, and girls playhouse – connected by a bridge (also built by Devin). Devin is excited to design and build those things in the backyard. Sarah oversees the work and helps where she can. 😉 With a new backyard (we’ve never had a place with a backyard), we are excited to take care of it. Even Timothy helps to mow the lawn and pull weeds.

We live within easy access of restaurants and shopping. We are close to several parks and fairly close to the elementary school too. We have wonderful neighbors around us. Since it’s a new area everyone is still getting to know everyone, but we’ve already made great friends. We love that we can take a short 1-2 minute walk down the street and see out across the entire Utah valley. It’s so beautiful!!

Our Nursery

We will have the baby sleep in our room for the first six months and then move them to their own room. Currently the room for the baby is being used as the play room so the décor would change. Sarah loves decorating and is beyond excited to change up the décor when the need arises.

Our Pets

Mohawk, aka Mo, is a domestic shorthair cat. He is all white except for his gray mohawk on his head – hence his name. He is 2 years old. He loves to play with his “worm toy” and generally prefers to be left alone. 

Teddy is an Australian Labradoodle. He is 1 year old and despite his size, is still very much a puppy. He loves to play fetch and to catch frisbees. He is a little skittish meeting new people, but he warms up quickly and then wants to play.

Our Family

We have a family mission statement that we created together:

We are fun, adventurous, loving, and honest. We learn from our mistakes, forgive each other, and help each other along the covenant path. We can do hard things!

We try to live by this mission statement and teach our son (and future children) about it. We laugh a lot, have fun, and love each other. We all pitch in and help one another. We communicate with each other and work through problems together.

Meet our son, Timothy:

Hi! I’m Timothy and I’m 9 years old. I love to play video games like Minecraft, Lego Skywalker Saga, and Pokémon Go. My favorite thing to do with my Dad is to jump on the trampoline. My favorite thing to do with my Mom is to cuddle and watch movies. With our family I like to play board games and make creations too. I am excited (and a little nervous) to be a big brother.

Custom Section

You can follow us on Facebook and Instagram at

@andersenfamilyadopts

Check out our website at

https://andersenfamilyadopts.weebly.com/

Family Photos

Contact Devin & Sarah

  • Hidden